Provinces in Myanmar. Regions for amazing tours!

Regions and Provinces in Burma

Myanmar can be divided in 17 provinces and 6 regions

The term province is not exactly correct, as the administrative units are divisions and states. It was our intention to choose a more well-known term to make it easier to you.

We grouped the 17 provinces in six regions to provide you an easy overview of Myanmar.

Central Burma

In Central Myanmar you find Bagan with its many temples and pagodas and Mandalay, the king`s last town. Two of the main highlights and must have seen places.

Northern Burma

In Northern Myanmar travelling is possible to the Naga in the Sagaing Division with their New Year celebration worth seeing. More nice places e.g. for trekking or sightseeing like the impressive Goteik Viaduct you will find in Northern Shan State.

Eastern Burma

In Eastern Myanmar are situated the three Shan States, Northern Shan State, Eastern Shan State and Southern Shan State. The most popular is the Southern Shan State with the beautiful tourist spots Inle Lake and Kalaw, a former british Hill Station.

Western Burma

In Western Myanmar the fantastic Ngapali Beach with its stunning beaches offers the perfect place for quite and relaxing holidays at the end of our tours.

Ayeyarwady Delta

The region of the Ayeyarwady Delta comprises the Ayeyarwady Division, Yangon Division, Bago Division West, Bago Division East. The Shwedagon-Pagoda in Rangoon and the stupa Shwemawdaw in Bago are part of the most Burma holiday packages of many travel providers. But the Ayeyarwady Delta in the strict sense of the delta region have not yet been developed.

Southern Burma

One of the most beautiful landscapes you will find in Southern Myanmar. The Mergui Archipelago is one of the most exciting group of islands in the world with more than 800 islands.

For a complete overview of the provinces we created the following list:

  • Ayeyarwady Division
  • Bago East Division
  • Bago West Division
  • Chin State
  • Kachin State
  • Kayah State
  • Kayin State
  • Magway Division
  • Mandalay Division
  • Mon State
  • Rakhine State
  • Sagaing Division
  • Shan State (East)
  • Shan State (North)
  • Shan State (South)
  • Tanintharyi Division
  • Yangon Division